Reviews

Review:Afterimage by J. Kowallis

25321850

Title: Afterimage
Author: J. Kowallis
Publisher: Createspace
Date published: May 7th,2015
Page Count: 406 pages
Genre: Young Adult,Dystopia,Sci-Fi
Where I got the copy: Got a copy of the ebook from the author (Thank you for the copy)
Series: The Enertia Trials Book 1 

Blurb:

Reggie’s dreams . . .
aren’t dreams.

Visions of the future flood her mind like shards of broken puzzles. Caged in her cell, every morning begins the same. She’s drugged, tortured, and images are torn from her memory by Public One.

Until the morning everything changes. The vision is different. The future’s never been about her, and now she knows they’re coming for her:

Nomads.

How will she convince them to keep her alive when Nate, their leader, doesn’t like or even trust her? To him, she’s a science experiment. A machine.

When Public One will do anything to keep her, Reggie must make a decision: remain a slave to her past, or risk her future to venture into a world more terrifying than she’s ever known.

My Honest Review:

**I received a copy of the ebook from the author in exchange for an honest and unbiased review**

Afterimage…it’s a dystopian book,a dystopian book set in the time after World War III.Yeah,you read it right guys,the Third World War,and as you can make out,it was devastating.Like seriously devastating to the human race,with just few pockets of communities of humans left after the war,apart from the government facilities that are striving on creating  ‘perfect’ humans to prevent another war of the kind.

Before getting into the plot,world building and the other stuff,I just wanted to write a few words about the title.Afterimage.I like the sound of it.It’s just a single word,but it provides a powerful,captivating and sophisticated image to the reader,exactly the things that draws one to a book.

This was a book I received for review,and given that,I had like no expectations,like seriously it was months back that I actually saw the blurb,oh wait…I dont even remember reading the blurb,which is like diving blindly into a sea without any idea of how deep it is.I didnt even remember it was a dystopian.The way I went blindly into the book,J. Kowallis’s writing took me by surprise.This book is so damn well written,like way it’s written could as well be the only thing to secure a place for the book in the top dystopias list.

Apart from the crisp and eloquent writing style,the characterisation and the world building,they go so well hand in hand.It isnt like there’s a lot of character development and noting about the world the characters live in..nor it is that the characters are bland and the world is an active place.In this one,as the charcters grow and develop,so does the backdrop against which the story is set,the world in which the characters live.

And guess what’s the other good thing about this book?Multiple POVs!YASS!!You get to know the inner working of the minds almost every significant character in the book and not just the main character.And what shocked me the most was that,it isn’t confusing.It’s not even like you have just two alternating POVs ,no,you have like multiple..with almost no particular pattern and believe me ,I missed the chapter names,or rather the name of the person whose POV a particular chapter was written in so many times,and still…I could still make out which character’s eyes we were seeing it through.That’s how beautiful this book is!

Can I talk about the ships now please?I’m not sure if this is a spoiler,but yeah,I’d rather you skipped this one paragraph is you don’t want even minor spoilers!There’s this point in the book where most of the ships are starting off…I shipped all the ships at that time….as much as I wanted London and Reggie to be together,I wanted Nate and Reggie to be together….and guess what,I also wanted Nate and Olivia to be together…..and I shipped Nate and Liam too…this one as bromance of course,lol.Though over time,my choices would change,this was what I felt in the first book.And mind you,romance isn’t the focal point of this dystopian!And that plays like a very important role in the building of the story.

Wait,how could I leave without writing something about the ending,it’s this sort of ending which will make you want to have the copy of next book in your hand immediately after finishing the first.So,you better have the next in the series ready!

There’s like so much more that I wanted to talk about just after I completed the book,  but it has been over a month since I read it,and also I would like to keep this non-spolier-y,so yeah,that’s it for the first book.Review for the second book will be up soon.

And just to mention,if you’re a hardcore fan of dystopia,do pick up this book!

Rating-  ♥♥♥♥.5 stars (4.5 stars)

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/25321850-afterimage?from_search=true

About the author:

13796170

J. Kowallis grew up in northern Utah, graduated from Weber State University’s creative writing program, and lives in Utah with her Mini Schnauzer, Etta. She enjoys dreaming about, flying to, and writing about distant lands (real or unreal).

Links to reviews of Book #2 and #3 :

Book #2 Review:Encender by J. Kowallis

Book #3 Review:Duality by J. Kowallis

See you in the next post!
Signing off!Bye!
-Anwesha 😀

Leave a Reply

