Reviews

Review:Encender by J. Kowallis

25935303-_uy400_ss400_

Title: Encender
Author: J. Kowallis
Publisher: Ingram Spark
Date published: February 29th,2016
Page Count: 440 pages
Genre: Young Adult,Dystopia,Sci-Fi
Where I got the copy: Got a copy of the ebook from the author (Thank you for the copy)
Series: The Enertia Trials Book 2

Blurb:

They say you feel cold when you die.
The people I’ve killed would beg to differ.

For twenty-something Ransley, the adopted daughter of famed street fighter Estevan Benitez, fighting is all she knows. One hidden detail separates her from the endless string of her pathetic opponents: she can craft and influence heat and fire.

When she’s pitted against the strongest fighters at the infamous Argolla, Ransley faces something she never expected:

A man like her.

Roydon can duplicate himself. When the two collide in the ring, a chain of deals turns Roydon over to Public Four and he’s taken away to undergo the disturbing process of the Nexis. What it is, or what it does, no one outside of The Public knows.

Driven by guilt and a desire to release the only person she’s ever met who’s like her, Ransley isn’t about to leave him for dead—not when he might hold the answers to her missing past. Now she must trust a pair of strangers: a former military man out to collapse the system, and a woman whose premonitions could tear them all apart.

My Honest Review:

**I received a copy of the ebook from the author in exchange for an honest and unbiased review**

The second book in the Enertia Trials beings with new characters,and trust me,I wasn’t too enthusiastic about reading new POVs,that’s the extent to which I loved the characters from the first book,and instantly started missing Reggie,given the fact that I completed the first book barely five minutes before picking up the second.So,I kind of left the second book just a couple of chapters in cause I was so certain that the second book was as amazing as the first ,but I first needed to get over the characters from the first book,and yeah,I like came back to this book after reading another book,and did manage to get all the feels from the first book!

Do I need to talk about the writing?If you did read my review for the first book,you’ll know that I love the author’s writing style,but if you didn’t ,I’ll just describe it in the same two words here.CRISP and ELOQUENT.

The second book too was as engaging and intriguing as the first,not like many series where the first book is amazing and then it goes downhill or gets dragged.This book goes at a steady pace…okay,more towards the fast pace,like whatever,it’s a pace that you’ll find super comfortable at.The world building goes on,the characters develop so much  more,you get to see new sides of the old character and new characters as well.

There are two main new characters,Ransley and Roy,and they are one heck of a kick-ass pair together.I’m not revealing their powers,but believe me,they have freaking cool powers!Yeah,Reggie’s powers are cool too,but they are a bit scary at the same time…like the powers are not one I would like to have cause I’m pretty sure that sort of power would burden me,but yeah,Ransley and Roy have cool ones!

Is that pair going to be a ship?I can’t promise you that,but I can certainly promise you that YOU are going to be head over heels with Roy!And the kick-ass Ransley too!There’s a lot happening with the other major pair ,like one among the pairs I mentioned in the last review,and I was just hoping at that point that they are gonna work out the whole thing together(I’m actually writing this review after reading all the three book,so I know what happens with each ship).As in book 1,you get to see the inner workings of another Public here,and an insight into other side characters-Estevan,Carmen,etc/

I have just one another thing to say.The ending of this book is going to wreck you a bit.You might or might not need tissues.But nevertheless,it gives the same feeling of wanting to read the next book immediately,just like the first one.

I really suggest you read this series if you are a hardcore dystopia fan!

Rating♥♥♥♥.5 stars (4.5 stars)

Goodreads:https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/25935303-encender

About the author:

13796170

J. Kowallis grew up in northern Utah, graduated from Weber State University’s creative writing program, and lives in Utah with her Mini Schnauzer, Etta. She enjoys dreaming about, flying to, and writing about distant lands (real or unreal).

Links to reviews of Book #1 and #3 :

Book #1 Review:Afterimage by J. Kowallis

Book #3 Review:Duality by J. Kowallis

See you in the next post!
Signing off!Bye!
-Anwesha😀

2 thoughts on “Review:Encender by J. Kowallis

Leave a Reply

