Review:The Bone Season Book 1&2

The Bone Season

img_20161011_1112511

Author: Samantha Shannon
Publisher: Bloomsbury USA
Date Published: August 20th,2013
Page Count: 466 pages
Genre:  Young Adult,Fantasy,Dystopia
Series: The Bone Season Book 1

Blurb:

The year is 2059. Nineteen-year-old Paige Mahoney is working in the criminal underworld of Scion London, based at Seven Dials, employed by a man named Jaxon Hall. Her job: to scout for information by breaking into people’s minds. For Paige is a dreamwalker, a clairvoyant and, in the world of Scion, she commits treason simply by breathing.

It is raining the day her life changes for ever. Attacked, drugged and kidnapped, Paige is transported to Oxford – a city kept secret for two hundred years, controlled by a powerful, otherworldly race. Paige is assigned to Warden, a Rephaite with mysterious motives. He is her master. Her trainer. Her natural enemy. But if Paige wants to regain her freedom she must allow herself to be nurtured in this prison where she is meant to die.

Goodreads

My Honest Opinion:-
(aka fangirling!Contains mild spoilers)

I actually read the book because of a read-along hosted by @acouplereads and @the_bandar_blog on instagram (I almost forgot about it,lucky someone put it up on their Instagram story 😀 ) and I’m glad i picked it up,like seriously,that was just the right book at that time.I was getting into a reading slump,and The Bone Season,with its enthralling heroine,fantasy,otherworldly beings,dystopian society,fast pace….not to mention The Warden,it was just the perfect book!

I agree that there’s a lot of confusion in the initial chapters,not about the plot,but the terms that have been used ,but you have the all-saving glossary at the back,so no worries!

Paige Mahoney is a strong character,a character who learnt to be strong for the sake of survival.I love that thing in her.Also,her psychic power!That’s so cool!Umm…I guess a bit scary too,like c’mon,when your psychic power can commit a bloodless murder,how could you not call it scary?But it’s still pretty cool!And she actually organised a whole revolution by herself…okay,with a bit of help from Julian and Liss,but still ,she was a leader of sorts!Girl Power!

And the Rephaim,they seem like the creatures of Netherworld,equivalent to the Vampires of our world,well,at least the feeding habits,aura equivalent to blood and the whole eye colour changing thing!And Nashira leads the Rephaim……she’s evil…like of course..she looks evil from the starting….and you have no idea how the fact that The Warden was the blood consort (fiance ) of Nashira hurt me….like..no possible romance  between the female protagonist and the male-supposed-anti-protagonist?But never let that fact stop you from continuing ’cause Arcturus(yeah that’s the Warden’s name)has a lot of surprises in store for you!I might have liked him from the first time he was mentioned! Like who wouldn’t like a male character who seems dark and mysterious and cold…but also has a warmer side and seems to have some kind of connection with the female protagonist?I would of course fall in love at  first mention!

“If I never return-if you never see me again-it will mean that everything is all right.That I have ended her.But if I return,it will mean that I have failed.That there is still danger.And then I will find you.”

Those are a few lines from some point of the book by some character…and what I think of that sentence is that,every damned thing should go wrong.The character should fail…and danger should prevail and the two characters should meet again,’cause if the character doesn’t fail ,they will not meet again…..don’t bother reminding me that it’s too selfish of me 😛 .

Well,this was supposed to be a mini review,so I’ll end it here,though there was a lot of other stuff that I would have talked about…but too many spoilers…and I’m down with cold and can’t bother myself to remember all the details,but trust me,this book is worth all the time you send on it and I highly recommend it to everyone.

Rating: ♥♥♥♥.75 (4.75 stars)

(The sole reason for not giving it a 5star was the confusion in the initial chapters,but kudos to Samantha Shannon for her use of all the different terms and so many characters and the amazing writing!)

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/17199504-the-bone-season

The Mime Order

screenshot_2016-11-14-22-54-23-800

 Author: Samantha Shannon
Publisher: Bloomsbury USA
Date Published: August 20th,2013
Page Count: 466 pages
Genre:  Young Adult,Fantasy,Dystopia
Series: The Bone Season Book 1

Blurb:

Paige Mahoney has escaped the brutal prison camp of Sheol I, but her problems have only just begun: many of the survivors are missing and she is the most wanted person in London…

As Scion turns its all-seeing eye on the dreamwalker, the mime-lords and mime-queens of the city’s gangs are invited to a rare meeting of the Unnatural Assembly. Jaxon Hall and his Seven Seals prepare to take centre stage, but there are bitter fault lines running through the clairvoyant community and dark secrets around every corner. Then the Rephaim begin crawling out from the shadows. But where is Warden? Paige must keep moving, from Seven Dials to Grub Street to the secret catacombs of Camden, until the fate of the underworld can be decided.

-Goodreads

My Honest Opinion:
(Contains  mild spoilers)

The second book begins right where the first left off…and since I’m letting my fangirl part take over while writing this,I’m not gonna go in the order of proper review.I love this world,like seriously loved it…this isn’t the kind of book where the first book is really promising but the series goes downhill after that..like not at all..instead this might have even got more interesting than the first.You don’t see much of the Rephaim ..like at least not as much as the first book,though they still appear towards the ending.

This is based more on the Cohorts of London…and so much happens..so much unexpected stuff happens….like c’mon,who knew so much would happen to Hector…and Cutmouth,that’s another story !And Warden captured?I thought the Rephaim were impossible to capture..like I kind of imaghined them as these huge beings who need a whole gang of 8-10 people to overpower them ,lol.And all the stuff that goes on behind the scenes!Damn.On a lovely note,I love what’s brewing between Paige Mahoney and the Warden *heart eyes* And I love the fact that she’s getting over(or already over) Nick cause I want them to be happy.

And guess what,I knew the ending was going to happen! That character seemed so shady in book 2!Like seriously,the moment I read the ending,I was like YEAS!!!!!IKNEWIT!IWASRIGHTALLALONG! Ignore the fact that it ends with a cliff hanger..I just hope I’ll remember what happened in this book when The Song Rising,that’s the third book,comes out next year.*mutters to self*the book can’t come out soon enough -_- .

But seriously,it book was amazing!Defintely recommend it if you love fantasy!

Rating: ♥♥♥♥♥ (5 stars)

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/17901125-the-mime-order

About the author:

 5830526

Samantha Shannon was born and raised in West London. She started writing in abundance when she was twelve, started her first novel when she was fifteen, and studied English Language and Literature at St Anne’s College, Oxford, from 2010 – 2013, graduating with a 2:1.

In 2013, she published The Bone Season, the internationally bestselling first installment in a seven-book series of fantasy novels. Its first sequel, The Mime Order, was published in 2015, and she’s currently editing the third book in the series, The Song Rising. She is also working on a high fantasy novel. Film rights to the Bone Season are held by the Imaginarium Studios, Chernin Entertainment and 20th Century Fox.

See you in the next post!
Signing off!Bye!
-Anwesha😀

Leave a Reply

