Review:Eternal Darkness by J.F. Johns

28533634

Title: Eternal Darkness
Author: J.F. Johns
Date published: January 11th,2016
Page Count: 342 pages
Genre: Young Adult,Sci-Fi,Dystopia
Where I got the copy: Got a copy of the e-book from the author (Thank you for the copy)
Series: Eternal Darkness Book 1
Rating: ♥♥♥♥ (4 hearts)

Blurb:

The world is divided between humans and cyborgs.
Scarlet Lock is neither.
She is a soldier created to kill on command. But her memory has been erased and when she awakens in a government facility she soon discovers that this new world is a dangerous place, full of government secrets and cruel experiments performed in the name of progress.
With the help of a group of cyborgs, Scarlet will fight to uncover the truth and transform the future of the new world she now lives in.
Eternal Darkness is full of suspense, action and romance and will make readers question what it means to be human.

Goodreads

My review:

**I received a  copy of the book from the author in exchange for an honest and unbiased review.This doesn’t effect my opinion on the book**

Cyborgs have been a fascinating thing to me since I read The Lunar Chronicles and this was probably the first book on cyborgs that I came across after that,and yes,I had to read it!And  guess what,it didn’t disappoint.

This is one issue I had with the book,or rather,the cover of the book,and no,I don’t have anything against the author or anyone else involved,in case anyone’s thinking that way.It’s just that I still did not get the relation of the cover with the story.Like the relation of the title and the cover with the story means a lot to me,and yeah,that’s why i write about them too in my reviews.Like the title,I’m guessing it is based on the 20 years of missing memory of our protagonist Scarlet Lock,like kind of goes well enough,like ‘eternal darkness’,20 years felt relating to eternity,without any memory of it-darkness,but I’m still struggling to find the relation of the cover with the story,like don’t get me wrong,i like the cover,I just need to get the meaning.I’m hoping I’ll get it better in the next book.

That was long.The writing.The writing took maybe a teeny bit more time to get used too,but yeah,you’ll get used to it.It’s not a complicated one,that you cannot understand,it’s just not the usual style  that we come across in books.But yeah,there are many hilarious lines scattered throughout the book,which will keep you entertained.

Plot time!(sounds more like Tea Time to me,lol)I kind of felt the plot was slow-going,but otherwise an interesting one.I would have liked if there was a more of world building.Like yes,there was an old government and now there’s a new government,and there are like 3 or 4 capitals,but it kind of needed more of the world around.It was still a good read,worth your time.And also,I was kind of expecting  that kind of twist.

Now,the protagonist,Scarlet Lock.Not a bad one, character wise.I liked this thing about her where she wanted to be treated as a strong enough person,but she still did make quite a few stupid or irrational decisions,and I also wish she didn’t doubt herself so much,like it did seem too much at some point.But yeah,she did have a character development from a naive person at the beginning,to someone who understand her powers towards the end.

The other characters,Sam-I really love how a took her under his wing,and how  fatherly a figure he is.Eric-He might have been the character I liked the most in the book.I like how he loves and cares and goes to such length to protect the ones he loves,and he’s also sarcastic ,you know the kind of guy who does both 😉 .Curtis was such a mysterious character,that he even seemed a dark one at some point!Madelline,I don’t think it would make a huge difference in the story if she wasnt there,like she seems like a plot filler.But yes,I really like Rory and Mathilda ,though the latter seemed a bit creepy,lol.I’m still not sure if I trust Lisa and Alyssa,but let’s see what happens in the next book.

And the last character,Andrew.There were times that I really liked him,but there were also times when i didn’t,but I don’t have anything against him for doing what he did to protect his sister from the horrors of the world.But I personally would choose Eric over Andrew any day,lol.

Despite the few negative points here and there,it was still a good, balanced story.And if you’re looking for a slower,dystopian,sci-fi read,this one is for you!

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/28533634-eternal-darkness

About the Author:

14844113

J.F.Johns is 23 years old and was born and raised in Spain. She studied English Literature and Creative Writing at ARU in Cambridge, UK.
She’s an animal lover, and spends her free time playing with her newly adopted puppy, drinking too much coffee and posting book photos on her Instagram.
She believes in the art of dramatic sighing and eye rolling. She works as a ninja, but has been told several times that she’s not very good at her job.
Eternal Darkness is her debut novel, and is the first book in the Eternal Darkness Trilogy.

Thank you so much for providing me with the ecopy of your book and giving me the opputunity to get to know that world that you gave life to!

See you in the next post!
Signing off!Bye!
-Anwesha😀

 

Leave a Reply

