Reviews

Review:Forget Tomorrow by Pintip Dunn

 24804505

Title: Forget Tomorrow
Author: Pintip Dunn
Date published: November 3rd,2015
Publisher: Entangled:Teen
Page Count: 400 pages
Genre: Young Adult,Sci-Fi,Dystopia
Where I got the copy: Got a copy of the e-book from the author (Thank you for the copy)
Series: Forget Tomorrow Book 1
Rating: ♥♥♥♥ (4 hearts)

Blurb:

Imagine a world where your destiny has already been decided…by your future self.

It’s Callie’s seventeenth birthday and, like everyone else, she’s eagerly awaiting her vision―a memory sent back in time to sculpt each citizen into the person they’re meant to be. A world-class swimmer. A renowned scientist.

Or in Callie’s case, a criminal.

In her vision, she sees herself murdering her gifted younger sister. Before she can process what it means, Callie is arrested and placed in Limbo―a prison for those destined to break the law. With the help of her childhood crush, Logan, a boy she hasn’t spoken to in five years, she escapes the hellish prison.

But on the run from her future, as well as the government, Callie sets in motion a chain of events that she hopes will change her fate. If not, she must figure out how to protect her sister from the biggest threat of all.

Callie herself.

Goodreads 

My review:

**I received a  copy of the book from the author in exchange for an honest and unbiased review.This doesn’t effect my opinion on the book**

I realised that side headings or sub headings of each part don’t work for me,so yeah,I’ll better stick to  my flexible paragraph method.But I’ll stick to the order ,so don’t you worry.

Cover and title time, of course.The title is actually a pretty clever title for the story.Like you get from the blurb ,that future memory is something which this whole story is based on,and also that something about Callie’s future memory is dangerous,and Forget Tomorrow is such a clever and good fit!As gorgeous as the cover is,I couldn’t figure out how it fits with the story.Just a wild guess that it’s something about being free or independent,cause wings and birds are frequently associated with freedom,and in this case freedom of their world from the clutches of future memory.I don’t really know,it’s just a guess.

The author has a simple,elegant writing style.I know,I have been using the word simple to describe the style of writing a lot these days but really,almost all of my 2017 reads up to A Darker Shade of Magic had simple but good writing styles.Like it’s the sort of writing that you would be comfortable reading about.

There is quite an amount of character development,like not a huge one,but it’s there,and it’s ample.But this one lacked in world building,it would have been great to see more of the world whose foundation stone was Future Memory.But I love the uniqueness of the idea,like a society based on future Memory is a completely new thing to me ,and that’s exactly what drew me to the book!(Apart from its cover of course!)

I’ll try to talk about both the plot and the book simultaneously .Callie was quite a good and strong-willed character,like a humane character,though she was a bit annoying at parts,i loved how much she cared for her sister.And there was Logan,Callie’s childhood friend and crush,and yes,the parts of Callie that I disliked were ones mostly related to Logan.Like while reading the book,I kind of felt like she didn’t know when to let go and when to persuade and hold ona dn she did all of those at all the wrong times.Like she seemed too selfish at those points.But..but when I thought back to all those moments after I was done with the book,I had a different opinion about her.She was human,and most dystopias,the character is made to be near perfect,and being selfish was a completely human thing(well,being selfish should have limits too,too much of everything is harmful) and I was glad at that moment for putting in those parts where she spent her time away from her society and cared for Logan.And yes,that part where Logan talks about his brother,and why he stopped talking to Callie,the feels!

There were predictable parts too,regarding those rumoured places,his brother(I’m trying hard not to spoil it for anyone!).Like TBH,some parts of it ,like a few scenes,reminded me of The Matched Trilogy, oh well,effects of reading so much dystopia.There’s so much more that I would love to talk about and cover in this review,like the ending,a cliffhanger ,the chapters before the ending and a few other side characters and other psychic abilities,the protagonist’s father,but I keep most of my reviews spoiler free ,and I have a bad feeling that talking about any of then would be a potent spoiler,so,we are almost nearing the end of the review.

Looking for a unique dystopian read with a not-a-perfect-but-so human female protagonist and a sweet and caring love interest?This is the book!

Goodreads:https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/24804505-forget-tomorrow

About the Author:

13442212

Pintip is a New York Times bestselling author of YA fiction. She graduated from Harvard University, magna cum laude, with an A.B. in English Literature and Language. She received her J.D. at Yale Law School, where she was an editor of the YALE LAW JOURNAL.

Pintip’s first novel, FORGET TOMORROW won the RWA RITA® award for Best First Book. Her other novels include THE DARKEST LIE, REMEMBER YESTERDAY, and the novella, BEFORE TOMORROW. She is represented by literary agent Beth Miller of Writers House.

She lives with her husband and children in Maryland.

And before I end,to the author,if you’re reading this by any chance,thank you much for providing me with the ecopy of your book.

See you in the next post!
Signing off!Bye!
-Anwesha😀

Leave a Reply

